I Am Not Alone

As I continue to reflect on the things I did wrong or could have improved on as master’s student in mathematics, I realize that I was fearing failure and doing things that I felt would keep me from failing but would not necessarily help me learn the way I needed to. Today, I came across an article that made me realize that I am not alone in my experience. In turns out that fear of failure, especially in academics, is a regular American epidemic. I hope you will all read this article so you can recognize–and combat–fear of failure when you see it in yourself.

About eemilne

My name is Erin Milne, and I am a mathematics student and teacher. I earned my master's in math from the University of Vermont, and I received my undergraduate education from Lyndon State College. My goal for this blog is to make mathematics interesting, useful, and non-frightening, as well as to inspire other low-income and first-generation students to continue their education. I hope this blog will be helpful, inspiring, and thought-provoking for high school and college students facing the same challenges that I have faced.

Leave a Reply

Recent Comments

Daisy McCoy on Welcome to Math Aspiratio…

Categories

eemilne

eemilne

My name is Erin Milne, and I am a mathematics student and teacher. I earned my master's in math from the University of Vermont, and I received my undergraduate education from Lyndon State College. My goal for this blog is to make mathematics interesting, useful, and non-frightening, as well as to inspire other low-income and first-generation students to continue their education. I hope this blog will be helpful, inspiring, and thought-provoking for high school and college students facing the same challenges that I have faced.

View Full Profile →

